Once known as the Fradozia Building, this structure is actually two distinct buildings with a common façade. It was built in 1900, one of the first buildings to be constructed after the May 25, 1900 fire that destroyed Apalachicola’s entire business district, including the building that stood on this spot. The only surviving traces of the original building are remnants of its oyster shell tabby foundation.
It is unique among the adjacent commercial buildings in that it has a high parapet in front of two steep gables which is reminiscent of boom construction. The structure’s wood frame was built atop a new brick foundation. Interior walls are flush shiplap wood.
Over this building’s lifetime, the group of three stores has housed a butcher shop, grocery store operated by A. Fradozia, cobbler, pressing shop, florist, auto parts store, and gift shops. The building has been, and remains today, an integral part of the commercial district.
The entire block on which this building stands was once the site of the Mansion House Hotel and was known as Mansion House Square. The hotel was located in the center of the block surrounded by lawns and gardens. It was built in the 1830s, the early years of Apalachicola’s founding. It was in the hotel on July 14, 1850 following a Bastille Day dinner that Dr. John Gorrie reportedly revealed his ability to manufacture ice to the world, an invention for which he received a patent in 1851. The building burned that same year. For more than two decades afterward, the square sat empty but was used for civic events such as baseball games.
The photo above was taken in 1906, looking northwest on Market Street (State Archives of Florida).
86 Market Street
Apalachicola, Florida 32320 USA